The first Rock Bottom

In December of 2009 the stars aligned.

One: I realized I was getting winded just walking up the stairs to our second floor apartment.

Two: I had a pregnancy scare.  My main thoughts during those two or three days of uncertainty were not “can we afford a baby?” or “are we ready for a baby?”

More like “OK, if there’s a human attempting to grow inside me, have I given it anything of actual nutritional value yet?  When was the last time I had a vegetable?”

And that was rock bottom.  I was 204 pounds.

Once I confirmed that I was not pregnant, I went to a Weight Watchers meeting that night. December 27, 2009.

I remember my mother commenting that I must be serious if I’m not waiting until New Year’s Day like the rest of humanity.

I lost 40 pounds in 2010.

Image

That picture was taken in July 2010 at about 170 pounds.  I lost a few more pounds after that, but that’s still my favorite “skinny” picture.  I just look so danged happy.

By the end of 2010 I was pregnant for real.  My weight at delivery in August 2011 was 210.  For the last two years I’ve tried to find that motivation again.

I guess it’s possible that somewhere in the back of my mind, this could be another pre-pregnancy health kick.  But I kind of hope not.

Not that I don’t want another child.  I do.  Eventually.  Maybe even more than one more.

But this time, I want to be doing this for me first.  I know it will benefit my family as well, but I want to be able to do this for ME.  For MY health.

Because I’M important.

Leave a Reply

