Still Fighting It

Well, I’m not a master blogger, clearly, but I wanted to check in and share where I’m at right now.

Still Fast Food Free Since June Twenty Three, with the important caveat that I have had some “fast food” meals, but only with a few important elements that were missing previously.  Any fast food I’ve had has been on purpose, sitting down either at home or at the restaurant (as in, not in the car); as a real meal, not a snack or extra meal; and with the knowledge/consent of my husband.

I’ve been doing great about the drive thru and the thought hadn’t really crossed my mind much or been a big temptation for a few weeks.

Until today.

Today I scheduled a last minute optometrist appointment, since today is the end of my health plan year.  I’ve been going to the same optometrist for about 20 years, one who was not too far from my teenage home, but who is not really at all close to our current home.  But I HATE changing doctors (that’s a different post though), so off I went.

Like I said, it was a last minute, same-day appointment kind of thing, so basically no planning or forethought went into it as I ran off to see the doctor.  By the time I got finished, it was 2:00pm and I was hungry.  It’s a good 30-45 minute drive home, past Every Possible Fast Food Option.

As visions of Wendy’s danced in my head, I called my husband, who helped talk me out of it, even though honestly I wasn’t very nice to him in the process.  I got in the far left lane on the highway home (faster of course, with the added benefit of it being near impossible to impulse-exit when something looks good) and made it home still Fast Food Sober.

One thing we haven’t really been doing that we’re going to start: menu planning.  I find that I’m more successful when there’s a plan in place.  If I know there’s a tasty meal planned at home, I’m infinitely less likely to even consider a stop on the way home.

Recently, having just moved into a new house and with money a little tight from the move and from having essentially two homes for close to two months, we’ve been relying on a lot of convenience food.  Not fast food, really…. but not good healthy food either.  Lots of peanut butter sandwiches, frozen dinners, frozen pizza, frozen chicken nuggets, etc.  So, we’re going to try to kick that habit… of if not “kick” it 100%, try to plan “real” meals when we have the time and save the convenience foods for nights that we know I have to work late or there’s some other reason to need a fast and easy meal.

I would love anyone’s contributions to the list of healthy-ish family meal options.  We tend to get into a spaghetti, tacos, spaghetti, tacos, spaghetti, tacos, rut pretty easily.  Keep in mind that my husband dislikes cheese… a fact that baffles me to this day.

As to my official progress.

Back in early May I weighed 223.  When I hit the apparent emotional “rock bottom”, I didn’t weight myself, but a few days of healthy eating later, when grandma offered to pay me to lose weight, that weight was 212.  This morning, my scale said 203.  So, progress is being made.  That slow, steady progress that is supposedly so good although it can also be so incredibly frustrating.  

Today it was frustrating.  I’d like to be the kind of person that can hit a drive thru and get a grilled chicken sandwich and a side salad.

But for me, that’s a Gateway Drug to “can I get a double bacon burger with extra cheese, large fries, a side of mozzarella sticks with ranch, and oh yeah a strawberry shake?” (duh, strawberry, because it’s fruit and therefore healthy)

Leave a Reply

